And That’s A Wrap!

After a relatively anxiety free December, I was just waiting for the other shoe to drop. It ALWAYS does. (Mind you, how could I possibly have anxiety when there was a trampoline IN our living room Christmas morning?? AND I tried it out after three mimosas! Wwwweeeeee). Trying to get off it was NOT a pretty sight, however.

In early January, I was told that my long time job position was being moved to head office in Mass, USA in 8 weeks. Not surprising–a very typical knowledge and/or talent transfer after an acquisition. Still– a kick to the old ego.

However, Onward and Upward.

Here's me out to lunch with my coworkers on my last day.. Tequila!

Here’s me out to lunch with my coworkers on my last day.. Tequila!

I have worked since I was 13 years old-and other than two short maternity leaves and two longer surgery leaves (buh buh colon.); I haven’t had a ‘break’, per se. It has taken the Fam a bit adapting to the idea that I will no longer be working long days… AND I will be HOME while I figure out my next career adventure. I think it frankly scares them. (Don’t let them fool you though; they have been eating like Royalty!)

My resume is ready; however I am going to take the month of March OFF. Yup. I know-I know- it sucks that it isn’t a summer month…but STILL– it gives me all the more reason to have Friends and Border Security marathons when the weather is crappy/lamb-ing/lion-ing.

I finally have the time to do a few things I always wanted to do or really should know HOW to do as a modern day, (former), working, independent career woman and (always) Mom. So March 2015 is it. One new thing each day.

So let’s get started, on one month of “Freedom 38”:

March 1st– Downhill Skiing

I had tried skiing at Tremblant (the mountain is 5 kms long….sigh) my very first time at age 35 with less than desirable results (broken wrist and concussion), so wanted to try at Pakenham- a much more bunny-hill-ish resort.

Sadly, once I mentioned skiing to my family they hit the slopes immediately and I got banished to the chalet. Their reasoning did make sense (I suppose), we have a family vacation coming up and they want me to remain injury free leading up to our departure date (even thought we are doing dangerous activities while there! That will likely be a different blog!). So I guess my “new thing” today  is sitting in a cozy ski chalet writing a blog, sipping red wine (shooter size servings with vintage size prices!) and people watching (I never knew ski gear was it’s own fashion..WOW..I feel very frumpy even in my sole ski sweater and ski boots- my GAWD my feet were hot by the end of the day, but I REALY wanted to look the part). The Fam had a great day, maybe next time for me.

 "Skiing"


“Skiing”

Yours in unemployment and (trying to) embrace new adventures,

Andrea Nicole Sargeant, the left-handed, colonless, jobless (for March on purpose), Gal from Kemptville who isn’t commuting anymore and still hasn’t learned to downhill ski.

Leave a comment